Sunday, November 16, 2014


Our current league is going to run through the end of the year and we have been thinking about what might come next.  Here are some WIP ideas I have been mulling over for our 40K group's next organized play event.  Thought I'd share for input and in case anyone else might find it a useful starting point for their own groups.

40K Campaign
-Split players into different factions (Imperial, Chaos, etc).  Play vs. other factions.  Details TBD

Unit advancement
*Units can earn Glory Points (GP) by doing well and performing great deeds.  With enough Glory they can earn upgrades.  Warlords, Independent Characters, unique units, Super Heavy Vehicles, Gargantuan Monstrous Creatures, units destined for destruction such as Spore Mines and Lone Wolves and other units determined by campaign/organizer are not eligible for Glory Points.
*Units must remain the same to continue to accumulate Glory Points.  Especially once units start to earn points it will help to name them to help make tracking easier.  You can leave a unit out of a battle to fit in something else if desired, just keep track of their points for when they return. (Example: my Whirlwind earns two Glory Points.  I name it “Chum Bucket”.  Next battle I leave it out of my list.  When “Chum Bucket” returns, with the same build, it can add to the two Glory Points it already earned.)
Glory Points
+1GP Fully painted (earn once)
+1GP Destroyed 2+ enemy units and survived battle
+1GP Hold objective or the Relic at end of game (one unit only per army per battle)
+1GP Destroyed enemy Legendary Unit
-1GP Destroyed friendly unit (blast scatters, exploding vehicle, kill self with Gets Hot!, etc.)
+1GP Victory! If win game, +1GP to Legendary Unit if alive & was in battle.  If Legendary Unit is dead or was not in the game, assign point to a surviving unit.
Legendary Units
*This unit is among the most famous to emerge from the campaign, great heroes or villains, lauded by their allies and feared by their enemies.  Same restrictions for Glory Points – if a unit is not eligible for Glory Points it cannot be your Legendary Unit.  Your Legendary Unit must be from your Primary Detachment.
*Nominate an eligible unit.  A Legendary Unit must be painted and be clearly the unit represented – it would not do for the unit of heroes to be proxied bare plastic!  Unit must remain the same – if it starts out as ten marines with a meltagun and a sgt with plasma pistol and power fist, it has to be the same build to count as your Legendary Unit.  Different transport options are acceptable.  As with any unit earning Glory Points, it should be named, to help track points and to allow your opponents to curse it more accurately.
*A Legendary Unit starts with one upgrade.
*Legendary Units all have Objective Secured.  A Legendary Unit that is also a Troops Choice has Objective Really Secured, which trumps regular Objective Secured.
*Aside from the upgrades earned from Glory Points, certain actions regarding Secondary Objectives repeated enough earn further bonuses.  Only units eligible for Glory Points can unlock these achievements.
            *If a unit earns Slay the Warlord five times, gets Preferred Enemy (Warlord)
*If a unit earns First Blood five times, gets +1 to roll for first turn if unit is in army (not cumulative)
*If a unit WAS First Blood five times, gets Shrouded for first turn.
*If a unit earns Linebreaker (one unit per army per battle) five times, gets Scout.  If already has Scout, gets Acute Senses.

Glory Point Upgrade Tables
5 GP = one bonus
10GP = two bonuses
20GP = three bonuses
(Max three bonuses for non-Legendary Unit; Legendary Unit max four bonuses including starting bonus)
When earn an upgrade, choose table and roll 1d6.  Note upgrade and track with unit.  If upgrade completely irrelevant (ie roll Fleet and already have Fleet) reroll on same table.  Each upgrade can only be earned once – reroll if necessary.

Vehicle Upgrades

Vehicle (General)
1 - +1 HP
2 - +1 Front AV (max 14).  If front AV already 14, apply to sides, if sides already 14, apply to rear.
3 – It Will Not Die
4 – 5+ Invulnerable Save
5 - -1 on Vehicle Damage Table
6 – Shielded – roll again: 1 – Adamantium Will  2 – ignores Armorbane  3- ignores Ordnance  4 - -3 on Haywire Table  5 – ignores Lance   6 – ignores Melta  (all “ignores” effects means ignores rule for extra penetration,  does not ignore attack altogether)

Vehicle (Walker)
1 - +1 A and Fear
2 – Fleet
3 – Rampage
4 – Overrun!  (Hit & Run)
5 – Move through Cover
6 – Precision Strikes

Vehicle (Gun Platform)
1 – One weapon becomes Twin-Linked
2 - +1 BS
3 – Interceptor
4 – Tank Hunter and Monster Hunter
5 – One weapon has Precision Shots
6 – Can choose to have Skyfire or not when it fires

Unit Upgrades

Unit (Mobility)
1 – Fleet
2 – Infiltrate
3 – Hit & Run
4 – Move through Cover or Skilled Rider
5 – Relentless
6 – Scout

Unit (Monstrous Creature)
1 - +1 SMASH attack
2 – Reroll missed SMASH attacks
3 – It Will Not Die
4 – Poison only affects on a 6 to wound
5 – Precision Strikes OR Precision Shots with one ranged attack
6 – Rampage

Unit (Survival)
1 - +1 T
2 - +1 Armor Save
3 – 5+ Invulnerable Save or +1 to existing Invulnerable Save (max 3+)
4 – Feel No Pain (if already have, 4+)
5 – Fearless (if already have Fearless, gain Zealot)
6 – Stealth

Unit (Melee)
1 – Assault Grenades
2 - +1 Strength
3 – Melee attacks gain Shred
4 - +1 A
5 – Hatred (everyone)
6 - +1 WS

Unit (Shooting)
1 - +1 BS
2 – Ranged weapons cause Pinning
3 – Ranged weapons have Tank Hunter and Monster Hunter
4 – Reroll missed Snap Shots
5 – Ranged weapons +1 Strength
6 – Shots that roll 6 to wound/penetrate have Ignores Cover.

Warlord Advancement
*Warlords have their own advancement track. 
*Victory - +1pt. 
*Give up Slay the Warlord - -1pt.
At 5pts, get second Warlord Trait.  Roll up one trait, note as permanent.  (If already have fixed Warlord Trait, this does not change, you are stuck with your fixed trait)  Each battle you may roll for a second Warlord Trait as well.
At 10pts, get third Warlord Trait.  Roll up second trait, note as permanent.  Each battle you may roll for a third Warlord Trait as well.
At 20pts, you may select any trait you have access to to become permanent.  You will now have three fixed Warlord Traits.  You may not roll for more unless the mission specifically tells you to or an upgrade gives it to you.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails